UK: Free postage for orders over £20

Gilded Ones

Gilded Ones

Regular price
£8.99
Sale price
£8.99
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Tax included.

Namina Forna

Paperback

About the Book

The must-read new bold and immersive West African-inspired fantasy series, as featured on Cosmo, Bustle, Book Riot and Refinery 29. In this world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther. Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it.

But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death. She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed...

"Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one." Buzzfeed"[A] stormingly good debut." The Observer"

Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy." Refinery 29"The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful." Stephanie Garber, #1 NYT bestselling author of Caraval

"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold, The Gilded Ones lifts the veil of violent patriarchy and burns the idea of purity to the ground. Must read!" Dhonielle Clayton, NYT bestselling author of The Belles"

Debut author Namina Forna's created a fierce female protagonist you'll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it." Bookriot

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)